Rurouni Kenshin Trilogy

Rurouni Kenshin Trilogy

The Rurouni Kenshin Trilogy are a Japanese film series that include Rurouni Kenshin (2012), Rurouni Kenshin: Kyoto Inferno (2014), Rurouni Kenshin: The Legend Ends (2014). This live action movie series is based on the popular manga and anime series Rurouni Kenshin written & illustrated by Watsuki Nobuhiro.  It is also known as or Samurai X. The films take place during the Meiji restoration period in Japan and if you like Samurai action films you will love this series.

Rurouni Kenshin (2012)

Filming of Rurouni Kenshin (2012) began in August, 2011 and the film was released on August 25, 2012.

In 1868, after the end of the Bakumatsu war, former legendary assassin Kenshin Himura (Takeru Sato) has become a wandering samurai who offers aid and protection to those in need as atonement for his past deeds. During this time Kenshin Himura comes across and aides Kaoru Kamiya (Emi Takei), whose father opened the Kamiya Kasshin-ryu, a kendo school located in Tokyo and Kaoru is an instructor there. Kaoru then invites Kenshin to stay at her dojo. Their relationship develops further, but Kenshin is still haunted by his violent past.

Rurouni Kenshin: Kyoto Inferno (2014)

Director Keishi Ohtomo began filming the second movie in the series on July 1, 2013 and finished December 27, 2013. The film was released on August 1, 2014. The movie was filmed in Ibaraki, Yamagata, Kumamoto, Shiga, Hyogo, Kyoto, Nagano, Tochigi, Chiba, Kanagawa and Tokyo, Japan. More than 5,000 extras were used in the making of Rurouni Kenshin : Kyoto Inferno.

Kenshin Himura (Takeru Satoh) goes up against pure evil Makoto Shishio (Tatsuya Fujiwara) who is attempting to overthrow the Meiji government. The fate of the country hangs in the balance as Kenshin Himura takes up the sword that he vowed to never draw again.

Rurouni Kenshin: The Legend Ends (2014)

Filming of Rurouni Kenshin: The Legend Ends (2014) began on July 1, 2013 and finished December 27, 2013. The film was released on September 13, 2014.

Director: Keishi Ohtomo
Writers: Nobuhiro Watsuki (manga), Kiyomi Fujii and Keishi Ohtomo (screenplay)
Producers: Takero Hisamatsu, Tatsuro Hatanaka, Masahiko Ibaraki, Naoto Miyamoto, Hiroyoshi Koiwai, Satoshi Fukushima
Cinematographer: Takuro Ishizaka
Action Director and Stunt Coordinator: Kenji Tanigaki
Stars: Takeru Satô, Emi Takei, Munetaka Aoki, Yu Aoi, Tatsuya Fujiwara
Distributed by Warner Brothers