Black Lightning (2018 – )

American superhero television drama series, Black Lightning (2018- ), is developed by Salim Akil. The television series premiered on The CW on January 16, 2018.

It is based on the character Black Lightning who was created by Tony Isabella and Trevor Von Eeden and who was featured in publications of DC Comics.

Cress Williams stars as Black Lightning alongside China Anne McClain, Nafessa Williams, Christine Adams, Marvin Jones III, Damon Gupton, James Remar, and Jordan Calloway.

As a younger man, Jefferson Pierce donned the suit of a vigilante and protected the streets of his city, but he believed he’d left those days in the past. He learns that life doesn’t always work out as planned when his daughter, Jennifer — a star student who is determined to achieve justice at any cost — gets recruited by a street gang. In order to protect his family, Jefferson sees no choice but to once again become Black Lightning.

The first season premiered on January 16, 2018 and ran for 13 episodes. In April 2018, The CW renewed the series for a second season, which premiered on October 9, 2018 and ran for 16 episodes. In January 2019, The CW renewed the series for a third season, which premiered on October 7, 2019.